No Camera

When everyone’s a DJ or everyone’s an artist we are Mech_nimal

Posted in Mech▲nimal by ION on 08/02/2012

I have been trying to understand this endless kamikaze situation; the media lies and the fact that no one seems to understand how biased it is against us. I have been trying to avoid this nation’s desperate television; torn by idiots and bullets and endless car chasing. I have been trying to leave this blog die; this is actually the first post I serve in here over these first months of a new year. But, what I experience around me nowadays keeps me carrying my weight with fear. Or, should I say, as far as I can see, I recognize a future which repeats itself into an infinitive domestic chaos. But, like a close friend says, “let’s not talk politics” in a pact to bury the silence. No more uncomfortable questions. No more superficial conversations. It is too late_

A cloud has fallen. Between our lives, in my stomach, in our hearts.

Reality now leads us to carrying ourselves from bar stool to bar stool, through decades of filling the hunger with wasted nightlife. Is there anyone I feel like speaking with tonight? I can wait until we share the same physical space before I go on with my tales. I can wait until we transmit through the same pirate bandwidth before I decide to share my art with fellow partners or stupid club promoters. I prefer walking down the street, it could be any street, the place means nothing. It could be any city, but now it’s Athens.

Over the past six months I have been waking up with my head full of ten thousand things. Every day they called me like children yearning to be born. They sometimes, even sang to me. But there, between the chaos and the hope, I noticed the narrator’s voice is basic deep. And so, one day I woke up with the metronome ringing in my ears the fuzzy mantra of Lazarus’ resurrection. Each heartbeat a microcosm of rhythm, each lifetime a song for you.

Outside the day is still waking, people move in silent duties.

My fellow passengers, I want to ask them: who seeded blood rivers under skin or painted the vast stellar canvas of stars? When this music of light and sound will heal our curiosities and drown us in the ocean of desire? Some say, music will save us all. They think. This is a lie and we all know it. But, music will definitely guide us, not false prophets of media press kits or intoxicated record labels fooling people with cheap dope. We hear the evidence in our minds, eye whispering to eye sweet endorphin blues, as we are drawn into music’s lustful gravity.

I met the other two members of this clandestine brotherhood during the days of no respect. Together, we see the wisdom of our policy more concerned with men’s courage and self-reliance. This of course, is absolutely true. For, I really hope this trip with fellow Mech_animals bring us to our heart’s destination.

Our first tracks will be revealed (in full stereo) soon. Our first video is on public sight since yesterday. Our first full live gig will take place in about two weeks. Beware: there are no hidden messages in our actions, so that’s why we are expecting no promotion of our actions. We live a life as remote and cluttered as that of a clandestine brotherhood. We just hope our song lines will not be spun from the treads of any political situation in Greece, for then we shall ever be trapped in the bounds of time. Instead, we weave our music into a black new fabric, winnowing over our city’s skies and let all damn politics, even our personal histories be just ripples on the surface.

Mech_nimal

Ion, Freddie F., TnG
Photograph by Yiorgos Mavropoulos

Leave a Reply

