No Camera

Like flowers in the heat

Posted in Dreamland by ION on 03/02/2011

The ghost of winter waves at me,
Swinging from lemon trees, every time I fall asleep
And then I wake up in a fairytale city,
Incredible, amazingly chained with stories of music and nature
Depicting the presence of adoring crowds.

My hands are dirty as the sun folds me up,
As I drink water and never need to pee.
I’m a drinking machine, programmed to crash.
I have no idea what you’re saying to me right now,
But you can tell me a little about yourself.

Then suddenly, as the words fade into silence,
A cloud comes in your eyes, they go blank
You’re somewhere else, away from me, like someone I don’t know.
And you wander, God knows where,
In a horny cab, where did you go?

I remember you telling me “Don’t ever call if you can possibly come,
Don’t ever leave if you can possibly stay”.
Make no mistakes, because I’m after them.
Hunting these qualities I’d hope for.
You don’t know how lucky you are being a monkey.

Yes, I like you. I don’t know what it is about you.
Great, now we’re getting somewhere.
Finally, we scamper down the stairs, scolded children.
There, where truth is.
In a balcony, like flowers in the heat.

Leave a Reply

